Today I Had a Reason To Be Happy….

My 2016 New Year’s Resolution was to find a new reason of what made me happy every single day. 2016 was a good year. Often in life we tend to dwell on the negatives because it’s so much easier to pity one’s own problems than to rise above them and see how there are so many more positives that lie in front of us.

I’ve been in a slump for the past few months. I was focusing on one huge negative in my life that no amount of positives could equate to this “huge” negative. However recently, I’ve been digging myself out of this slump. I’m been focusing this negative energy into something more positive, more powerful, more meaningful!

As I choose to rise above, I found myself beginning to think about New Year’s Resolution and how beneficial it was to me. Many people don’t need a constant reminder of how their life is going splendidly, however I do as do many other people. Begin someone who has struggled with depression, self-harm, and suicidal thoughts throughout my life, when I find myself in a good place in my life, staying in that good place doesn’t come as naturally. So having this constant task to think about all the potential wonderful, happy experiences I have throughout a single given day was a constant reminder to me about how worthy my life is.

So now I’m writing, nearly 8 months post-New Year’s Resolution and I want to right about what made me happy today;

July 24th, 2017

  • Today I had a reason to be happy: I went to work and I fell even more in love with these kids and being a camp counselor. When I’m working, nothing else matters. I am so removed from my life outside and all of my energy is solely focused on these kids and making them happy. Little do they know just how happy they are making me though.
  • Today I had another reason to be happy: I felt too sick to work out today (which isn’t what made me happy) and the crazy thing is I missed it!! I’m so happy that I found a new way to focus my energy that also keeps me healthy. While I’m working out, it’s not as enjoyable, but I feel so much healthier overall. It’s helping me grow mentally and physically stronger. So tomorrow I will work out, and I will be even more happy than I was today realizing I’m becoming one of “those” people that actually enjoys working out.
  • Today I had another reason to be happy: Gidu was up for three hours at lunch and two hours for dinner. This may not seem like anything to anyone else but I’m talking about a man who is usually out of bed no longer than 45 minutes at a time, three times a day. He’s getting stronger again and it swells my heart more than I can explain. I still don’t have high hopes to see him at Christmas but that man never ceases to amaze any of us. However if this is the last few weeks I get to spend with him, I’m glad I’ll be left with the lasting impression of him being strong until the end.

So today I had many reasons to be happy, and I’ll have many reasons tomorrow as well as the day after that. I’m disappointed in myself that I lost sight in this fundamental idea that drove my life for an entire year. Yet like everything else, I’ll learn from it and just maybe it will involve turning this New Year’s Resolution into a lifelong daily routine. Now I ask you: what was your reason to be happy today?

Leave a Reply

